2017 Oscar Lewis Awards

The Book Club of California congratulates the recipients of the 2017 Oscar Lewis Awards:

Robert Bringhurst
Oscar Lewis Award for Western History

Robert Bringhurst was born in Los Angeles, raised all over the American West, and lives now on the central coast of British Columbia – Altissima California, as he likes to call it. Widely known as a poet, a typographic historian, and  scholar of Native American oral literature, he has published extensively with Peter Koch, Carolee Campbell, and other fine printers. His book Palatino: The Natural History of a Typeface was published last year by the Book Club of California. Most recent is his long poem, Going Down Singing, a collaboration with California artist Joseph Goldyne, published in 2017 by Two Ponds Press in Rockport, Maine.

Kitty Maryatt
Oscar Lewis Award for the Book Arts

Kitty Maryatt is Director Emeritus of the Scripps College Press and was Assistant Professor of Art at Scripps College in Claremont, California. She taught Typography and the Book Arts at Scripps for 30 years, and a core humanities class to sophomores called The Artist Book as an Agent of Social Change. Her research interest for the last several years has been the 1913 book La Prose du Transsibérien by Blaise Cendrars and Sonia Delaunay. An article about the “book painting” has just been published by the Book Club of California. She is currently working on a grand project to re-create Prose with original pochoir and letterpress in an edition of 150 copies.


The Oscar Lewis Awards were established by the Book Club of California in 1994 in honor of Oscar Lewis (1893-1992), San Francisco author, historian, and club secretary from 1921-1946.

Click here to view the press release for this year’s awards.

Press play on the video below to listen to the 2016 acceptance speeches.

Past recipients of the Oscar Lewis Award for Western History:

James Karman (2016)
Dr. Gray Brechin (2015)
Rebecca Solnit (2014)
W. Michael Mathes (2012)
Philip P. Choy (2011)
Thomas Pinney (2010)
Robert J. Chandler (2009)
Malcolm Margolin (2008)
Carl Nolte (2007)
Robert V. Hine (2006)
David F. Myrick (2005)
Robert G. Harlan (2004)
Kevin Starr (2003)
Ferol Egan (2002)
Muir Dawson (2001) and Glen Dawson (2001)
J. S. Holliday (2000), Msgr. Francis J. Weber (2000)
Allan R. Ottley (1999)
Gary F. Kurutz (1998)
Richard H. Dillon (1997)
Lawrence Clark Powell (1996)
Doyce B. Nunis, Jr., (1996)
Michael Harrison (1995)
Dr. Albert Shumate (1994)

Past recipients of the Oscar Lewis Award for the Book Arts:

Richard Wagener (2016)
Harry & Sandra Reese (2015)
Johanna Drucker (2014)
Carolee Campbell (2013)
Jonathan Clark (2012)
Clifford Burke (2011)
Charles Hobson (2010)
Graham Mackintosh (2009)
David Lance Goines (2008)
Patrick W. Reagh (2007)
Peter Rutledge Koch (2006)
Joseph J. D’Ambrosio (2005)
Eleanor Edwards Ramsey (2004)
Joanne Margarethe Sonnichsen (2003)
Carolyn and James Robertson (2002)
Wolfgang Lederer (2001)
Andrew Hoyem (2000)
Jack W. Stauffacher (1999)
S. Gale Herrick (1998)
Sandra Kirshenbaum (1998)
Marjorie G. Stern (1997)
Lewis and Dorothy Allen (1996)
Albert Sperisen (1995)
Stella Patri (1995)
Ward Ritchie (1994)

Napa Valley web design and development